How to make facebook even more awesome – Some tips for Mark Zuckerberg.

Image

So I was thinking, facebook has revolutionized the way we, er, do stuff. If it were up to me, how could I make it even more awesomely do stuff?

The way things are right now, I write stuff and post it on my facebook wall. And then I like it. Patting myself in the back assures potential likers that I have confidence in my piece.

  • Facebook goes: You like your post

And then potential likers, seeing my confidence, flock to see my post.

Suppose I have a friend. Let’s call him Nobody. Nobody likes my post.

  • Facebook goes: Nobody likes your post

Now traditionally, the buck stops here. Unless, of course Nobody likes it enough to comment on it. Then,

  • Facebook goes: Nobody commented on your post

THAT IS IT. Unless of course, I like Nobody’s comment. Then,

  • Facebook goes: You like Nobody’s comment.

The buck verily definitely stops here. Period.

And here’s were I got thinking. Should it stop there? What if I like the fact that Nobody likes my post? Should facebook draw the line on how much people can like each other? Haven’t we all grown tired of being told (to quote Arundhati Roy) ‘whom to like, and how, and by how much’?

As a social construct, facebook thrives on communication. So how about not dropping the ball there, Mark?

Right now, Nobody likes my post, and facebook has informed me thusly.

What if facebook gets tweaked? What if things are taken to the next level?

Prepare for some awesomeness folks:

I like the fact that Nobody likes my post, and inform facebook of my intention to make it public.

  • Facebook goes: You like that Nobody likes your post.

Ha! The possibilities!

Now, what if Nobody is thrilled by the fact that I liked the fact that Nobody likes my post?  When facebook gets wind of this latest development,

  • Facebook goes: Nobody likes that you like that Nobody likes your post.

I mean, endless possibilities are rearing their heads already. As they rightly should. This is the dawn of a new era, where you can like each other in so many different levels, that looking down makes you dizzy. I can already feel Mark drooling.

And of course, if you like Nobody, or for that matter Anybody enough times, reading the facebook narrative of it will get so confusing that Christopher Nolan just might decide to buy the rights from you for a movie, tentatively titled

‘When shit hits the fan, and you like it’.

18 thoughts on “How to make facebook even more awesome – Some tips for Mark Zuckerberg.

Leave a Reply

